This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here
Walter Knoll Inside

Classic Edition Collection

Classic Edition Collection


Walter Knoll is known as a furniture brand of modernity.

The history of the Knoll family is inextricably linked to this time of awakening and the developments of the age. The company has repeatedly made its mark on furniture history, and created classic pieces and icons of the avant-garde. On the occasion of its 150-year anniversary, Walter Knoll presents the “Classic Edition”: classics that recount furnishing history. With reissued products and familiar favourites – to explore and rediscover. All with their very own story.


Classic Edition Collection Vostra

Vostra

Design: Walter Knoll Team. | 1949

Vostra exudes the charm of memory. As far back as the fifties, the armchair was courageous enough to make a statement about casual seating. Today, it once again stands for lifestyle. Unconventional and easily remembered, it soon became a symbol of the time of awakening. Today, still an example of the timeless quality of good design.

In post-war Germany, Walter Knoll was publicising a modern way of life. His son Hans Knoll supported him in this: in 1947, he sent his father the »Vostra« model, a small belted armchair made of beechwood, and designed by Jens Risom. With its clear lines, »Vostra« corresponded to the attitude to life and helped Walter Knoll regain international recognition. Presented in the upholstered version at the »Neues Wohnen« (New Living) exhibition in Cologne in 1949, the armchair was one of the first great seating ranges of the post-war era and became the embodiment of modern living.

Product


Classic Edition Collection Votteler Chair

Votteler Chair.

Design: Arno Votteler. | 1956

The rediscovery. A connoisseur sees its charm at a glance: the reading and relaxing armchair 368 is a quiet classic of mid-century modernity. Designed in 1956 by Arno Votteler for Walter Knoll, the armchair tells of the inspirations of the time: Scandinavian objectivity and austerity in the best possible sense. The deliberately angular volume of the upholstery rests on a delicate tubular steel framework.

Attractive detail: the armrests made of solid wood, elegantly shaped for comfort. With a high or a low backrest – the essence of lightness for a timeless appearance.

Product


Classic Edition Collection 369

369.

Design: Walter Knoll Team. | 1956

In 1956, Germany was still being subjected to a classic style of furnishing. The whole of Germany? No, because a small bucket seat appeared on the scene that was to change the design of the age. Its allies came from Scandinavia, the Bauhaus and the avant-garde. The armchair set flowing forms and sweeping vital lines against the straightness prevalent at the time. Experiments with new materials and the invention of plastic made this possible. In the Classic Edition the 369 armchair reminds us of the fact that Walter Knoll was often an advocate of the avant-garde and that the company is still creating designs today which will enjoy lasting validity.

At the time, the Cologne Furniture Fair praised the small armchair, developed by Walter Knoll back in the 1950s, as an »ornament of the modern room with its own elegant form and its tasteful touch«. Pleasing as well as timeless, the classic screams lifestyle.

Product


Classic Edition Collection 375

375.

Design: Walter Knoll Team. | 1957

The new elegance. The designers had presumably imagined a shared aperitif or a conversation in the salon when they came up with this small armchair in 1957. The Lady’s Chair 375 has a light-footed and charming air. It's not a chair for lolling around, but taking a seat. And the slightly larger easy chair 376 is also reminiscent of familiar social rituals. A genuine Gentleman’s Chair, particularly supple and comfortable.

The dawn of a new age: the 1950s in Germany were characterised by joie de vivre and an increase in prosperity. The economy was beginning to gather momentum; the age of the economic miracle had begun. A new affluence and a progressive way of life were determining the everyday routine. The easy chair 375 by Walter Knoll reflected the spirit of the times. A fine seat, lightweight and comfortable. For the new retreat into private life.

Product


Classic Edition Collection Haussmann 310

Haussmann 310.

Design: Trix & Robert Haussmann. | 1962

The new Chesterfield. The special quality of craftsmanship, upholstery expertise and modernity – that is what Walter Knoll is all about – as is Haussmann 310. Designed in 1962 as part of the Swiss Design Collection, Walter Knoll is reissuing the legendary club armchair by Swiss architects and designers Trix and Robert Haussmann. The aim at the time: »To design a piece of furniture that offers the comfort of the classic Chesterfield but looks lighter,« says Robert Haussmann.

As with all Chesterfield furniture, the characteristic diamond pattern structures back and seat. The traditional upholstering technique of button tufting makes sure of that. A sign of masterly upholstery experience. Modernity is reflected in the delicate legs – a tribute to the Bauhaus movement.

»This club armchair has the charm of something that has grown old with dignity. And creates this inimitable ambience of familiar noblesse,« continues Robert Hauss- mann. Originality that is here to stay – with the quality and substance to be something special, not only today but also tomorrow.

Product


Classic Edition Collection FK

FK.

Design: Jørgen Kastholm & Preben Fabricius. | 1967

FK – Scandinavian design by Fabricius and Kastholm – is classic design history. In the sixties the bucket seat was laying down markers for a new formal language: FK – the unique form, the clear contours, the perfect lines. Bucket and three-star base, volume and lightness – a graphic image of compelling conciseness.

In 1969 the armchair was awarded the first federal style prize for »Gute Form« (Good Shape) and became an icon of minimalism in design. A wave of adulation that can still be felt today.

Product


Classic Edition Collection Fabricius

Fabricius.

Design: Preben Fabricius. | 1972

As a genuine classic, Fabricius tells the story of furniture. The Conversation Chair from the seventies combines the tradition of Scandinavian design and functional aesthetics with the charm of casual seating comfort. Precise in the processing of metal, top quality in the surfaces: armrest and supporting structure frame the slide-in seat. The result is lightness and a slim-line shape. Whether as a soloist or an ensemble, it was made for lounges, lobbies and living rooms. And of course for design museums.

Product


Classic Edition Collection Berliner Chair

Berlin Chair.

Design: Meinhard von Gerkan. | 1975

A genuine classic. The Berlin Chair is once again taking to the stage. Designed in 1975 by Meinhard von Gerkan for the VIP lounge of Berlin's Tegel Airport, Walter Knoll has reissued this icon of design history. Clear, logical, authentic: the Berlin Chair – a masterpiece of modern design. Inspired by functionalism and the resoluteness of Scandinavian design, the armchair is still a prime example of timeless aesthetics today.

Shiny steel carries supple leather. Elaborately finished, with pleasantly soft upholstering. It is the clean lines, the materials, their innate harmony and the special top-grade craftsmanship that characterise the value of this design. And not least the precision: the art of leaving nothing to chance. More gently, more quietly, with greater endurance. Timeless and familiar in the very best sense of the word. For sensitive connoisseurship and orientation in a world of objects.

Product

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Indem Sie diese Website benutzen, stimmen Sie der Nutzung von Cookies gemäß unseren Richtlinien zu. Mehr erfahren.
Walter Knoll Inside

Classic Edition Collection

Classic Collection Edition


Walter Knoll gilt als Möbelmarke der Moderne.

Die Geschichte der Familie Knoll ist unmittelbar verbunden mit dem Aufbruch und der Entwicklung in dieser Zeit. Kontinuierlich setzt das Unternehmen Zeichen in der Möbelgeschichte, schuf Klassiker und Ikonen der Avantgarde. Zum 150-jährigen Jubiläum präsentiert Walter Knoll die „Classic Edition“: Klassiker, die Möbelgeschichte erzählen. Mit neu aufgelegten Produkten und vertrauten Lieblingsstücken – zum Kennenlernen und Wiederentdecken. Alle mit ihrer ganz eigenen Geschichte.


Classic Edition Collection Vostra

Vostra.

Design: Walter Knoll Team. | 1949

Vostra versprüht den Charme der Erinnerung. In den Fünfzigerjahren zeigte der Sessel Mut zu legerem Sitzen. Heute steht er wieder für Lifestyle. Unkonventionell und einprägsam wurde er zum Zeichen des Aufbruchs. Bis heute ein Beispiel für die zeitlose Qualität guten Designs.

Nach 1945 propagierte Walter Knoll in Deutschland die moderne Lebensweise. Sein Sohn Hans Knoll unterstützte ihn dabei: Aus New York schickte er dem Vater 1947 das von Jens Risom entworfene Modell »Vostra«, ein kleiner Sessel aus Buchenholz mit Gurtbespannung. Mit seinen klaren Linien entsprach »Vostra« dem Lebensgefühl und verhalf Walter Knoll wieder zu internationaler Anerkennung. 1949 in der gepolsterten Ausführung auf der Kölner Werkbundausstellung »Neues Wohnen« präsentiert, zählte der Sessel zu den ersten großen Sitzmöbelserien der Nachkriegszeit und wurde zum Synonym für modernes Wohnen.

Zum Produkt


Classic Edition Collection Votteler Chair

Votteler Chair.

Design: Arno Votteler. | 1956

Die Wiederentdeckung. Der Connaisseur erkennt seinen Charme auf den ersten Blick: der Lese- und Ruhesessel 368 ist ein stiller Klassiker der Mid-Century Moderne. 1956 von Arno Votteler für Walter Knoll entworfen, erzählt der Sessel von den Inspirationen, die der Zeitgeist hervorbringt: skandinavische Sachlichkeit und Strenge im besten Sinn. Die betont abgewinkelten Volumina des Polsters ruhen auf dem filigranen Stahlrohrgestell.

Formschönes Detail: die Armlehnen aus Massivholz, elegant gebogen für die Bequemlichkeit. Mit hoher oder mit niedriger Rückenlehne – die Essenz von Leichtigkeit für eine zeitlos gültige Ästhetik.

Zum Produkt


Classic Edition Collection 369

369.

Design: Walter Knoll Team. | 1956

1956 war Deutschland noch vom klassischen Einrichtungsstil geprägt. Ganz Deutschland? Nein, ein kleiner Schalensessel trat an, die Formensprache der Epoche zu verändern. Seine Verbündeten kamen aus Skandinavien, dem Bauhaus und der Avantgarde. Der Geradlinigkeit der Zeit setzte der Sessel fließende Linien und plastischen Schwung entgegen. Experimente mit neuen Materialien und die Entwicklung des Kunststoffs machten dies möglich. In der Classic Edition erinnert der Sessel 369 daran, dass Walter Knoll schon oft für Avantgarde stand. Und gestern wie heute Design hervorbringt, das dauerhafte Gültigkeit besitzt.

Von Walter Knoll in den Fünfzigerjahren entwickelt, lobte die Kölner Möbelmesse den kleinen Sessel damals als »Zierde des neuzeitlichen Raumes durch seine elegante Form und die ihm eigene geschmackliche Note«. Sympathisch und zeitlos zugleich ist der Klassiker heute wieder Lifestyle.

Zum Produkt


Classic Edition Collection 375

375.

Design: Walter Knoll Team. | 1957

Die neue Eleganz. Vermutlich hatten die Gestalter den Aperitif oder die Konversation im Salon vor Augen, als sie 1957 diesen kleinen Sessel entwarfen. So ausgesprochen leichtfüßig und charmant kommt der Lady’s Chair 375 daher. Hier lümmelt man nicht, hier nimmt man Platz. Und auch der etwas größere runde Halbsessel 376 erinnert an die vertrauten gesellschaftlichen Rituale. Ein wahrer Gentleman’s Chair, besonders anschmiegsam und komfortabel.

Aufbruch in eine neue Zeit: Die Fünfzigerjahre in Deutschland waren geprägt von Lebensfreude und Aufschwung. Die Wirtschaft nahm wieder an Schwung auf, die Zeit des Wirtschaftswunders hatte begonnen. Ein neuer Wohlstand und eine fortschrittliche Lebensweise bestimmten den Alltag. Der Easy Chair von Walter Knoll spiegelt diesen Zeitgeist wider. Ein feiner Sitz, leicht und komfortabel. Für den neuen Rückzug ins Private.

Zum Produkt


Classic Edition Collection Haussmann 310

Haussmann 310.

Design: Trix & Robert Haussmann. | 1962

The new Chesterfield. Besondere handwerkliche Qualität, Polsterkompetenz und Moderne – dafür steht Walter Knoll. Und dafür steht Haussmann 310. Im Jahre 1962 als Teil der Swiss Design Collection entworfen, legt Walter Knoll den legendären Clubsessel der Schweizer Architekten und Designer Trix und Robert Haussmann wieder auf. Die Idee damals: »Ein Möbel zu entwerfen, das den Komfort des klassischen Chesterfield bietet, aber leichter in Erscheinung tritt«, so Robert Haussmann.

Wie bei einem Chesterfield-Möbel strukturiert das charakteristische Rautenmuster Sitz und Rücken. Die traditionelle Polstertechnik des Kapitonierens – die Knopfsteppung – sorgt dafür. Ein Zeichen meisterhafter Polstererfahrung. Die Moderne zeigt sich am filigranen Gestell der Füße – eine Hommage an das Bauhaus.

»Dieser Clubsessel besitzt den Charme des in Würde Gealterten. Und schafft dieses unnachahmliche Ambiente vertrauter Noblesse«, so Robert Haussmann weiter. Eine Originalität, die bleibt mit der Qualität und der Substanz, heute und morgen etwas Besonderes zu sein.

Zum Produkt


Classic Edition Collection FK

FK.

Design: Jørgen Kastholm & Preben Fabricius. | 1967

FK – skandinavisches Design von Fabricius und Kastholm – ist klassische Designgeschichte. In den Sechzigerjahren setzte der Schalensessel Zeichen für eine neue Formensprache: FK – die unikate Form, die klare Kontur, die perfekten Linien. Schale und dreistrahliger Kreuzfuß, Volumen und Leichtigkeit – eine Grafik von überzeugender Prägnanz.

1969 erhielt der Sessel den ersten Bundespreis »Gute Form« und wurde zur Ikone des Minimalismus im Design. Eine Woge der Wertschätzung, die bis heute anhält.

Zum Produkt


Classic Edition Collection Fabricius

Fabricius.

Design: Preben Fabricius. | 1972

Fabricius erzählt als echter Klassiker Möbelgeschichte. Der Conversation Chair aus den Siebzigern verbindet die Tradition skandinavischen Designs und funktionaler Gestaltung mit dem Charme legeren Sitzkomforts. Exakt in der Metallverarbeitung, wertig in den Oberflächen: Armlehne und Tragstruktur rahmen den eingeschobenen Sitz. Leichtigkeit und schlankes Volumen entstehen. Als Solomöbel oder Sitzgruppe geschaffen für Lounges, Lobbys und Wohnzimmer. Und für Designmuseen, natürlich.

Zum Produkt

Classic Edition Collection Berlin Chair

Berlin Chair.

Design: Meinhard von Gerkan. | 1975

Ein wahrer Klassiker. Der Berlin Chair betritt wieder die Bühne. 1975 von Meinhard von Gerkan für die VIP-Lounge des Flughafens Berlin-Tegel entworfen, legt Walter Knoll diese Ikone der Designgeschichte neu auf. Klar, logisch, authentisch: der Berlin Chair – ein Meisterstück moderner Gestaltung. Inspiriert vom Funktionalismus und der Konsequenz skandinavischen Designs steht der Sessel bis heute für eine zeitlos gültige Ästhetik.

Glänzender Stahl trägt geschmeidiges Leder. Aufwändig verarbeitet, angenehm weich gepolstert. So sind es die klaren Linien, die Materialien, ihre unbewusste Harmonie und die besondere handwerkliche Qualität, die den Wert dieses Entwurfs beschreiben. Und nicht zuletzt die Präzision: die Kunst, nichts dem Zufall zu überlassen. Langsamer, leiser, länger während. Zeitlos und vertraut im besten Sinne. Für sensible Kennerschaft und Orientierung in der Welt der Dinge.

Zum Produkt