This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here
Walter Knoll Inside

Jürgen Röhm, the innovator

“The qualities of nature give furniture character.”

Jürgen Röhm

Developing a new piece of furniture is a voyage of discovery. Constructors, upholsterers and seamstresses are venturing into unknown territory with designers. As the expedition leader, I’m mediating between creatives and craftspeople. The former give us direction, making their sketches and plans, and the latter are digging down and collecting what they find. If all goes well, what we end up with is treasure – the perfect rendition of design in technology, construction, material, form and function.

Our aim is for our customer to get a perfect product. This means that our expedition might take a little longer. In the case of the Leadchair, it lasted five years. Three times, the designers altered the design for the better. The chair we discovered at the end of the process has almost nothing in common with the initial idea. But it is perfect!

Jürgen Röhm

En route to the workshop: as mediator, Jürgen Röhm is often on the move around Walter Knoll’s traditional premises.

We never develop a product for the product’s sake. There is always a single, strong idea. Can we add new value to the category of the sofa or table – a new function, technology, or aesthetic? This might be a wonderful softness to the touch, an extraordinary seam pattern, or a fascinating surface.

Jürgen Röhm

Mission Tama Desk: Jürgen Röhm with graphics for a new, sculptural Walter Knoll desk.

Leather, wood, wool: we work with natural materials. And this fact harbors another exciting challenge. The beauty of nature has no limits. Technology can only control nature up to a certain point. So our designs and processes always take into account these wonderful variations and idiosyncrasies. We call it imperfection in perfection. That might sound lofty, but for us it’s another factor that enhances the value of our products. Because our goal is to develop furniture with its own special character.

Products

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Indem Sie diese Website benutzen, stimmen Sie der Nutzung von Cookies gemäß unseren Richtlinien zu. Mehr erfahren.
Walter Knoll Inside

Jürgen Röhm, der Innovator

»Die Eigenheiten der Natur verleihen Möbeln Charakter.«

Jürgen Röhm

Ein neues Möbel zu entwickeln ist wie eine Forschungsreise. Konstrukteure, Polsterer und Näherinnen erkunden mit Designern unbekanntes Gelände. Als Expeditionsleiter vermittle ich zwischen Kreativen und Handwerkern. Die einen bieten Orientierung, fertigen Skizzen und Pläne, die anderen graben und setzen Fundstücke zusammen. Wenn alles gut geht, heben wir am Ende einen Schatz – die optimale Umsetzung von Design in Technologie, Konstruktion, Material, Form und Funktion.

Unser Anspruch ist es, dem Kunden ein perfektes Produkt anzubieten. Da kann die Reise auch mal länger dauern. Bis zum Leadchair dauerte sie fünf Jahre. Dreimal änderten die Designer den Entwurf – jedes Mal zum Besseren. Der Stuhl, den wir am Ende schließlich entdeckten, hat mit der ersten Idee kaum noch etwas zu tun. Aber er ist vollkommen!

Jürgen Röhm

Auf dem Weg zur Werkstatt: Als Vermittler ist Jürgen Röhm viel unterwegs im Traditionshaus von Walter Knoll.

Nie entwickeln wir ein Produkt um des Produkts willen. Es geht immer um die eine, starke Idee. Können wir der Kategorie Sofa oder Tisch einen neuen Wert hinzufügen – eine neue Funktion, Technologie oder Ästhetik? Das kann eine berührende Weichheit des Leders sein, ein außergewöhnliches Nahtbild oder eine faszinierende Holzoberfläche.

Jürgen Röhm

Mission Tama Desk: Jürgen Röhm mit Grafiken zum neuen, skulpturalen Schreibtisch von Walter Knoll.

Leder, Holz, Wolle: Wir arbeiten mit natürlichen Materialien. Diese Tatsache birgt eine weitere spannende Herausforderung. Die Schönheit der Natur kennt keine Grenzen. Und technologisch lässt sie sich eben nur begrenzt beherrschen. Was wir also stets in unsere Designs und Prozesse einkalkulieren, sind diese wunderbaren Variationen und Eigenheiten. Wir nennen es Imperfektion in Perfektion. Das mag philosophisch klingen. Für uns ist das ein zusätzlicher, den Wert unserer Produkte steigernder Faktor. Denn unser Ziel ist es, Möbel zu entwickeln, die einen eigenen Charakter besitzen.

Produkte